My Week In Writing (03/07/17)

20170630_202109Well, to lead with the bad news: my harddrive suffered a mechanical failure yesterday. It happened too quickly for me to be able to back up, so I lost a not insignificant amount of writing. I’ve sent it off for data retrieval so, keep your fingers crossed for me.

Fortunately though, most of the writing I’ve done since my last full back up was novel drafts, which I backed up on completion, so all things considered the damage is minimal!

In better news, I found out this week that my story 3.8 Missions is going to be featured in Shoreline of Infinity’s special anthology of Scottish science fiction for the Edinburgh Book Festival, which I’m very excited about. I’m going to be rubbing shoulders with some book festival authors, as well as Shoreline reprints. I feel very honoured!

This week, I’ve been taken a break from long form fiction, so I wrote two new short stories… both of which may now be gone for good. Fortunately, the two slightly longest stories I started I have at least some of and I’ve written as detailed notes as I could manage on what I’ve lost, so re-writing should be relatively easy…

I went to Hear Hare Here at the Golden Hare Bookshop, where I heard some really great poetry and picked up a very tiny book containing an essay by Phillip Pullman, an excerpt from his upcoming Daemon Voices.

I listened to the first two stories of Big Finish’s newest volume of Companion Chronicles The First Doctor: Volume Two. Fields of Terror, starring Maureen O’Brien as Vicki, is a historical, a kind of sequel to the William Hartnell serial The Reign of Terror. It’s one of the creepiest Doctor Who stories I’ve encountered in a while, delving as it does into a dark portion of French history.

Across the Darkened City, starring Peter Purves as Steven Taylor, is a Dalek story co-starring the incomporable Nicholas Briggs. In my opinion, the Daleks are at their best when their numbers are low, and this is a story that really gets that; Steven is stranded on a strange and deadly world, his only companion, and only chance of survival, an injured Dalek.

Along the way, he grapples with a question that has occupied at least three Doctor Who stories: could a Dalek ever become good? However, unlike its predecessors Across the Darkened City comes to a bleak and unsettling conclusion that’s both shocking and inevitable, with a delicious final twist that I did not see coming.

(If you listen to this boxset, be aware that Across the Darkened City is best listened to after familiarsing yourself with the Patrick Troughton serial Evil of the Daleks).

Next week, I’m planning to listen to the next half of the boxset, plus I’m going to be starting some volunteering work. And I’ve ordered a 2-in-1 tablet to replace the somewhat creaky backup laptop I’m currently reliant on, so that should be an improvement!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under doctor who, Weekly Update, writing

Leave a Reply

