My Week In Writing (19/06/17)

20170617_132652It’s been a strange one. My last day at my job was Wednesday – the last couple of weeks of my notice period just flew by.

I don’t have another job yet, but I’m signed up to do some digital marketing volunteering with a local charity and I have four job interviews in the next couple of weeks – two of them with the same company, weirdly enough.

Settlement 359 hit 150k this week which is very exciting. Haven’t made as much progress as I’d have hoped but I think I’m over the tricky part of the climax so it should be done reasonably soon. Then, I don’t know what I’ll do. Start another novel, maybe!

Speaking of, I finished going over Summer and now I’m going to have to do some tough editing. Boo.

I went to Event Horizon’s fantasy special at Banshee Labyrinth, where there was some really great live music and some interesting writing. I got a copy of Shoreline of Infinity 8, which I’m reading at the moment.

I also went to Edinburgh Pride which is always a bit mixed – it’s a fun event and it’s important to me to go, but there’s usually too many corps and this year, bizarrely, there was a Royal Navy recruitment stand. (I could have forgiven this if they were playing In The Navy which would have been very funny, but alas they were not.)

However, I got rainbow cake, donated some money to some worthy causes in exchange for some very nice badges, and I now own a pride flag, so mostly a win.

I read Bed by David Whitehouse, a charity shop impulse purchase. It’s a good book, but unsettling in a way that wasn’t really for me – frankly a good portion of it just made me kind of nauseous.

I watched two episodes of Doctor Who this week (I missed last Saturday’s). Empress of Mars was some quality Ice Warrior content, but I have to say I’m a little sad that they featured an explicitly female Ice Warrior – up until now you could assume that Ice Warriors aren’t sexually dimorphic so any of them could be female, but alas, now they’re all boys, apparently. (I’m going to assume that Ice Lords are sexually dimorphic but Ice Warriors are not.)

I was really looking forward to Eaters of Light – it’s by Rona Munro, the first Classic Who writer to work on the new series and author of Survival, the final Classic Who serial. I’m very slightly disappointed – I really enjoyed the characters and the themes but I didn’t find the sci-fi especially interesting. Which is better than the alternative, I suppose.

I listened to two Big Finish stories, Criss-Cross and The Two Masters. Criss-Cross is a Colin Baker historical story set in Bletchley Park and featuring new companion Leading WREN Constance Clarke. It’s solid stuff, and I’m looking forward to listening to more Constance stories.

The Two Masters is exactly what it says on the tin, a multi-Master story featuring Geoffrey Beevers and Alex MacQueen as Big Finish’s two incarnations of the Master. It’s a proper epic with some genuinely unexpected twists and turns along the way.

Unfortunately, I also came down with a filthy cold this week – I haven’t had more than two hours continuous sleep since Friday night. Hopefully I’ll be recovered before my interview tomorrow. We’ll see…

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Update

Leave a Reply

